Yeddyurappa Government’s Cabinet Expanded

The cabinet of the government headed by Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa in Karnataka was expanded on Tuesday with 17 new ministers added. Chief Minister Yeddyurappa had proposed 17 MLAs to Governor Vaju Bhai Vala, who took the oath of office, for swearing in as minister.

The MLAs who took oath as ministers include CN Ashwath Narayan, KS Eshwarappa and Govind M Karjol. It is noteworthy that last month the Janata Dal (S) -Congress coalition government led by HD Kumaraswamy fell due to being in a minority. After this, the Bharatiya Janata Party formed the government in Karnataka.

Chief Minister Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the fourth time on 26 July 2019. Before the cabinet expansion, Yeddyurappa had reached Delhi on Monday to meet Union Home Minister and party president Amit Shah. After the approval of Amit Shah, he decided to expand his cabinet.

The legislators joining the Yeddyurappa cabinet include H. Nagesh, an independent legislator who has been sworn in as a cabinet minister. This is the first expansion of the twenty-five day old Yeddyurappa cabinet.

Among the MLAs who joined the cabinet were Govind M. Karjol, C.N. Ashwath Narayan, Lakshman Sangappa Savadi, K.K. s. Eshwarappa, R. Ashok, Jagdish Shettar, B.C. Sriramulu, s. Suresh Kumar, V. Somanna, CT Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, Kota Srinivas Pujari, J.V. C. Madhu Swamy, CC Patil, H. Nagesh (Independent MLA), Prabhu Chauhan and Ms. Jole Sasikala Anna Saheb.

Union Minister Prahlad Joshi, BJP MP Shobha Kharandalje, all BJP MLAs, DG and IGP Neelamani M. Raju and suspended Congress MLA Roshan Baig were also present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *